Home NEWS SSANU, NASU and NAAT begin a five-day warning strike.

SSANU, NASU and NAAT begin a five-day warning strike.

Non-academic unions in the Nigerian universities have begun a five-day warning strike today Monday, 16th January, 2016 over the inability of the Federal Government to

implement the 2009 Agreements with the unions.
The unions are the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU) and the National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT).
The Joint Action Committee (JAC) of the unions in a statement stated that the warning strike became necessary in order for government to fully implement the 2009 FGN/Non-Teaching Staff Unions Agreements it freely entered into with the unions.
The statement quoted the committee as saying that “the University system is challenged by poor governance and administrative lapses which needs to be addressed holistically.
“Poor funding of our universities, shortfall in payment of staff salaries, increasing corruption in the university system should be addressed.’’
Also listed among the problems that required attention of the government was inadequate physical infrastructure and abandoned projects which they said had reduced the capacity and output of its members.
Other areas were lack of adequate teaching and learning facilities which had reduced the productivity of members and the non-payment of Earned Allowances being product of the 2009 Agreement, among others.
We bring you the latest gists from all round the world. You can’t afford to miss anything. Don’t be left out!